New Scientist article disclaimer

Hi, whoever you are visiting this site, especially if you just came from reading my article in the New Scientist. I just want to say for the record that I did not have any say in the title.  Was disappointed actually when I read it online because I never would make the claim that the Math Drive (an idea I tentatively suggest in my article) IS LIKE the Sex Drive.  I do not have evidence for such a claim.  Maybe it is, maybe it isn’t.  We would need to research that question.

Nonetheless if you have made it this far, you are very welcome to peruse this site, an eclectic collection of links and references related to mathematical beauty.

Welcome!

-Manya

About manyapajama

Associate Professor in Mathematics Education, and part-time poet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Scientist article disclaimer

  1. Devi-ations says:

    No problem with that. Look forward to your content.

    Devi

    >

  2. ebrahimp83 says:

    The title of the New Scientist article – though I didn’t read it – is what led me here. But I’m more interested in the beauty in maths, so I’m happy to follow and read your website instead!

  3. dashwoodtyne says:

    I can only recall one occasion during my math education that I had an aesthetic experience over a proof sufficiently intense for me to recall it 60 years later. Had someone suggested the same pleasure centres were being stimulated as with an orgasm, I would not have been surprised. I do not recall such a memorable reaction to music or art since.
    From the point of view of getting aesthetic experience into math education, there is a problem: the occasion was in a one to one tutorial at scholarship level with a top teacher in a major academic public school. I have some difficulty in seeing how the experience could be made available more democratically at a lower level.
    Lamentably the experience also marked the peak of my mathematical career. I failed the double S-level exam and went on to read other subjects. Perhaps, following neo-Lamarkist epigenetics, the experience benefited my progeny instead (she got a double first in Maths from Oxford).

    • manyapajama says:

      Thanks for your comment. About making these kinds of experience available to all children, I think the main issue is one of exposure. Ideally all kids could have a chance to see powerful mathematics, and those that get hooked could continue. Internet makes this more likely to happen, if kids have access and get pointed in the right direction (the website Cut-the-Knot is a good place to start!).

      http://www.cut-the-knot.org/

Leave a Reply

